top of page

Happy Song

"What a tight game. I knew the Jackets would completely throw them off their game," Kenzie said, skipping down the campus's concrete steps. I struggled to keep up, afraid I'd trip on my shoe lace and tumble all the way down. I never went to sport games for the school but she always liked to and it was something to do on a Friday night.

"Were you watching the game or were you watching the boys?" I teased. She smacked my arm as I dug for my keys. A grey Honda Fit, similar to mine, sped by on the main street, Bring Me the Horizon's "Happy Song" blaring the speakers.

"They need to slow down. That's a safety hazard."

"At least they listen to good music." We got in my car and drove away from the school. We were on the way to meet some friends in the next town over for a little drinking, friends who didn't want to go to the game and wanted get a head start on shots instead.

It was our Christmas break from school and the road we took to our friend's house was dark and not a lot of cars drove on it at night. It was the kind of road that I'd always joke about Jeepers Creepers coming to kill us while Kenzie would tell me to watch for deer. It was about a half hour drive going the speed limit that I normally sped above so we'd be there in no time. Kenzie was Snapchatting someone and I was flipping through my music as I did oh so often when bright red taillights were suddenly in front of me. I cursed loudly and slammed on the brakes, both of our seat belts locking. Kenzie scoffed and put her phone in her lap.

"And this person is going forty miles per hour, why?" she snarled. I shrugged and shook my head angrily. The pavement road that we were just on turned into gravel and the car ahead of us slowed down even more. They had a large dent in the back of their car and the back windshield was broken out, a Five Nights at Freddy's sticker barely holding on to a shard of glass up in the left corner. "They have the same sticker you do."

"Lots of people like Five Nights at Freddy's, it's not too weird," I said. "You would think they would cover up their window. It's the middle of winter in Montana."

"Welcome to Montana," Kenzie said. "Can you pass them?"

"Yeah." I slowly started to merge over onto the other side of the road when they merged over as well. I braked so I wouldn't hit them and moved back to the right and they followed.

"What's this guy's deal?"

"It's a Friday night and they just wanna mess with us." I sat back and put my hand on my head. "Looks like we'll be driving longer than we thought." That's when I noticed something. The driver put their hand on their head at the same time I did. I lowered my arm and so did they.

"Ashlie's gonna be mad that we're late," Kenzie told me. "She's already texting me asking where we are."

"Well, tell her we're held up by some idiot driving in front of us that won't let me pass him," I snapped. Kenzie held up her middle finger towards the car and there was a person in the passenger seat, doing the same thing.

"Look, now they're copying us," she hissed. "They really don't have anything better to do than to annoy us." I tried to hide the fact that I was actually very creeped out.

"They're just teenagers who had too much weed." Kenzie unbuckled and reached in the backseat for her purse to dig her phone charger out. As she stretched to the back, I realized the person in the passenger seat was doing the same. "Kenz..." She looked over her shoulder and I watched as the passenger looked over theirs. "There's something wrong."

"Why are they copying us like that?" she asked, clearly catching on to how uneasy I was feeling.

"I don't know." I raised my arm and watched the driver raise theirs and both us waved in the same timing and everything.

"I don't like this. Will you please pass them and get us the hell out of here?" I slammed on the gas without hesitation and quickly turned my wheel to the left... Only to have the car do the same.

"I can't. They won't let me!" I cried.

"There has to be some kind of civilization nearby."

"Yeah, in another five miles."

"Turn around. We'll go the other way to get to Jeff's house."

"If I turn around, they could turn around and keep following us. I'd rather be behind them before they're behind me." Kenzie flopped back, defeated.

"So what do we do?"

I thought for a moment. The minute something came to my head I could see a stop light ahead. It had always been a weird place for one and the only options there were to go right or left. Straight took you right to a cliff with a small pond laying below. Each of our vehicles slowed to a stop and waited for the red light to change.

"I'm ready to call the police or something," Kenzie said, breaking the silence and snatching up her phone. I made her wait a moment, still watching the vehicle in front of us.

The light turned green and we sat there.

"It's green." Kenzie was getting angry and was about to jump out of the car to confront them. I stopped her, and grabbed my pepper spray from my purse.

"I'm gonna go see what all of that was about back there. Maybe I'll get some answers. If anything happens, get in the driver's seat and drive away as fast as possible and call the police," I said, making her promise. As much as she didn't want me going out by myself, I wasn't going to listen. I pushed my door open, almost expecting the other driver to do the same thing. But to my surprise, they didn't. I slowly approached the vehicle, the people inside of it were instantly frozen.

Before I could say anything, the sound of metal crushing metal rang out for all of the emptiness to hear and the car sped straight forward and over the cliff, plummeting down below. Kenzie and I both screamed and I hurried back to my car to grab my own phone. "I'm calling the police."

"What just happened?" she asked.

"They just drove off the cliff!" I ran over across the street in attempt to find the car and try to help the people out of it. I heard crunching footsteps behind me and Kenzie was running over to me, raising her phone to her ear, waiting for an answer.

"Where's the car? Did they land in the pond?"

"If they did you could see the taillights or the moon would reflect through their windows," I replied. "What the hell? Where did it go?" I could hear my music playing in my car and Bring Me the Horizon's "Happy Song" started playing.

"Should we go down there and try to look?"

"No, let's just call the cops and wait here for them."

The horn of an old pickup truck broke us away from our standing point as the truck plowed right into the back of my car, sending it flying our way and over the cliff. I nearly lost my breath from the harsh wind that followed directly behind the car as it flew down the cliff and into the pond below. The pond wasn't deep so it didn't get completely submerged. Kenzie and I stood in shock and surprise as my car's alarm blared loudly and the "Happy Song" still playing. Staring down at my totaled vehicle, I knew there was something familiar about the dent and the broken windshield with the Five Nights at Freddy's sticker barely hanging on.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page